The temple is situated at the foot of Shaoling Plateau, about 20 kilometers south of Xi'an. Built in 669 A.D. (second year of Zongzhang of the Tang Emperor Gaozong Li Zhi), the temple is the location of the pagoda under which the famous Tang monk Xuanzang was buried. Xuanzang's given name was Chen Yi, but he was honored as a "Master of Sanzang".
He became a monk at 13, went to India to bring back the the Buddhist scriptures at 28 and returned to Chang'an at 44.
During his search of the Buddhist scriptures, he mastered all kinds of Buddhist theories and later translated 1335 volumes of the scriptures in 75 sets from Sanskrit into Chinese, created Faxiang, a major sect of Buddhism and wrote a book called "Records of Travel in the Western Region" which is a very important document of ancient times.
During his search of the Buddhist scriptures, he mastered all kinds of Buddhist theories and later translated 1335 volumes of the scriptures in 75 sets from Sanskrit into Chinese, created Faxiang, a major sect of Buddhism and wrote a book called "Records of Travel in the Western Region" which is a very important document of ancient times. Today's Xingjiao Temple was rebuilt in 1939. The copper figure of Buddha joss in the Daxiong Hall was relic of the Ming Dynasty. There are several thousand sutra files of past dynasties preciously preserved in the Cangjing Tower (Cangjing means to store the sutra) in the eastern part. The Stupa of Xuanzang has titleogether 5 floors, and it is 33 meters high with the mud statue of Rabbi Xuanzang in the vaulted hole under the tower.
Han Dynasty Terra-cotta Army
They are now displayed in the Xiangyang Museum in Xiangyang City 28 kilometers from Xi'an. In 1974, during the excavation of the tomb of Liu Bang, Emperor Gaozu, who was the first emperor of the Han Dynasty, at Yangjiawan, more than 3,000 pieces of colored terra-cotta army were discovered. These Han terra-cotta figurines measure 50-70 cm high including soldiers, cavalrymen and music band. Beautifully shaped and exquisitely painted, they are typical representatives of the Han dynasty terra-cotta army.
Qianling Tomb, located 85 kilometers northwest of Xi'an, was the tomb of Li Zhi (628-683) Emperor Gaozong of the Tang Dynasty, and his empress, who became the only woman emperor Wu Zetian (624-705) in Chinese history after the death of her husband. It was built in 684 A.D., and took 23 years. There were a lot of architecture on the grounds of the tomb which was a grand necropolis. The huge stone statues arrayed in front of the tomb are well preserved up to now. They demonstrate remarkable achievements of the sculptural arts during the prime of the Tang dynasty. A great deal of excellent unearthed from the minor tombs to the Qianling tomb are colourful. With smooth lines and gorgeous colours, they gracefully depict many of ancient paintings. Map of Qianling Tomb
Mt. Huashan called the West Mountain in ancient times, is one of the noted Five Mountains in China. Located in Hayin city, Shaanxi province, it is at the junction of Shaanxi, Shaanxi and Henan provinces. With Mt.Qinling to the south and the Yellow and Weihe Rivers (See: Map of Weihe River) to the North, Mt.Huashan has long been called number one precipitous mountain under the heaven. Map of Mt. Huashan
Mt. Huashan is formed of a piece of huge and complete granite. Its history dates back to 2.7 billion years. The mountain has three summits: the south peak, which is the highest of the three, 2160.5m above sea level, is also named the Wild Goose Perching Peak, the east Morning Sun Peak and the west Lotus Flower Peak. The mountain flanked by the Yuntai (Cloud Terrace) and Yunu (Jade Maiden) peaks and fronting thirty-six minor peaks, has peculiar peaks, strange rocks, seas of clouds, purling springs as well as flying waterfalls.
Two hundred and ten famous scenic spots and historical sites are scattered everywhere, including the Planked Road high up in the air, the towering path known as Sparrow Hawk Turning Its Body, the Canglong (green dragon) Ridge as well as the Qian Chi Chuang (Thousand-Feet Cliff), the Bai Chi Xia (Hundred-Feet Valley), the Lao Jun Li Gou (old-gentleman-ploughed furrows), Shang Tian Ti (steps leading up to the sky) all of which were chiselled on cliffs.
The Immortal's Palm Rock ranks the first in the Eight Scenes of the Guangzhong Plain. The changeable weather on the mountain makes Mt. Huashan sometimes in the clouds, or in the rain, or in the mist, or in the snow, which make people feel as if they were in a fairyland.
In recent years, the basic construction of Mt.Huashan has developed rapidly. In past, there was only one path leading to Mt.Huashan. Now, two new high ways up to the mountain have been opened. Mt. Huashan cable cars to the North Peak were finished.
A series of service facilities were established both on the top and at the foot of the mountain, including the Huashan Hotel, the Jinrong (finance) hotel, the Li Hua Ping Hotel and the Beifeng Restaurant. An electric and telephone circuit has been set up throughout the mountain.
Famen TempleThe Famen Temple was situated in the Famen Town 10 kilometers north of the Fufeng County, 120 kilometers west of the Xi'an City, 96 kilometers east of Baoji City. It's the famous temple as dagoba for the bones of Shijiamoni in the ancient times in our country. Famen means the door one must enter once he wants to cultivate himself according to Buddhism. The Famen Temple was first built during East Han Dynasty. The Famen Temple Tower, also named "The Tower of the Real Body" (zhen shen bao ta), gained its name from burying one section of Shijiamoni's finger bone. In 1985, Shijiamoni's finger bone "Sheli" and a lot of precious cultural relic which has been stored deeply up to 1000 years was found in Digong (the earth palace). This finger bone is the only existent "sheli" of the real body of Shijiamoni. Map of Famen Temple
The Huangdi Tomb
It is located in Huangling County, 150 kilometers northwest of Xi'an. Huangdi also known as Xuanyuan, was a famous tribal chief in the area at the middle and lower reaches of the Yellow River in remote antiquity, and was regarded as the ancestor of the Chinese nation by later generations. He used jade as his weapon, and made boats, vehicles, bows and arrows. His wife, Luozu, could raise silkworms, and his history official, Cangji, created characters his subject, Danao, created the Ganzhi calendar, and his music official, Linglun, made music instruments. Huangdi was also recorded in the history books for punishing the evil and unifying the Chinese people for the first time. It was said that he was buried at Mount Qiaoshan in this area. See: Map of Mausoleum of Yellow Emperor