News Center China Tour Maps    Huangshan Package Tours  Huangshan Snow
 Home 
 Routes 
 Hotels 
 Gallery 
InformationTransportationHuangshan TourDestinationsChina Tour Culture SpecialtyTravelogue
You are now at: Home>>Destinations>>Along Yellow River>>Kaifeng

Along Yellow River

Search in the Site




Kaifeng Attractions
 
Fan Tower:
A courtyard-like tower in the Song style, the Fan Tower is situated at the northern end of the imperial Street. It consists of five buildings, three stories each: the East, the West, the South, the North and the Center. The largest recreation center so far in Kaifeng, it has food, recreation and shopping facilities.

Iron Tower:
Constructed in 1027, it stands 54.7 m in height. It has survived the destruction of wars and numerous floodings. It is not really made of iron, but of red, brown, blue and green glazed bricks. From a distance, the pagoda appears reddish brown, giving the impression that it is made from rusted iron and so it has been called the Iron Pagoda for centuries. The outer walls, corner pillars, doors, windows and bracket supports of the pagoda are all composed of glazed bricks. Carved on these component parts are more than fifty ornamental designs, including images of Buddha, heavenly kings, celestial guards, lions, unicorns, musicians, and peony and lotus flowers. It is the oldest landmark in this ancient city.

Dragon Pavilion Scenic Spot
Resting in the northwestern part of Kaifeng, the Dragon Pavilion Scenic Spot is the largest of its kind in the city, with an area of 83.13 hectares. It has been built on the ancient ruins of the imperial palaces of the Song, the Jin and the Ming dynasties.

Memorial Temple to Lord Bao:
The Memorial Temple to Lord Bao, a famous uprighted officer in ancient China, is located along the lakeside of Lord Bao in south western Kaifeng. The temple covers an area of 1 hectare and consists of the Main Hall, the Second Hall, the Eastern and Western Halls, Banbi Corridor and the Stele Pavilion.

Grand Xiangguo Monastery:
The first temple on this site was built in 555AD during the Northern Qi Dynasty, and under the Tang Dynasty (618-907 AD) Xiangguo was one of the Empire's leading Buddhist institutions. During the time of the Song Dynasty (960-1279 AD) the temple's monastery grew to house over 1000 monks in some 64 different Buddhist colleges. In 1644 the temple was destroyed when the retreating Ming army opened the flood gates of the Yellow River to slow the advance of the Manchu invaders. Xiangguo was rebuilt during the Qing Dynasty and has been renovated a few times since. The temple's current structure includes the Shanmen Gate, the Heavenly King Hall, the Grand Hall, the Great Treasure House, the Sutra Library, the Drum Tower and the Bell Towers. The Great Treasure House is home to a number of Buddhist relics and artifacts, including a Song Dynasty bronze Buddha and a ten foot high gold covered statue of the Goddess of Mercy, Guanyin.
 
 
Huangshan Maps
Various Itineraries
Transportation and Getting Around
Weather Forecast
Hotel Reservation
Cell:13365597857

| About Us | FAQs | Links | E-mail Us | Payment | Testimonials | Privacy Policy | Site Map |
Copyright © 2002-2020    Huangshan China International Travel Service    All Rights Reserved
Tel: 0086-559-2542110   Cell: 13365597857  Fax: 0086-559-2515255   Email: johnson_yeh@hotmail.com